能源前沿

关注吉玛国际最新动态

能源前沿

来源 : Gemar official website 发布时间:2019/08/27

 

 

 

【能源前沿】APR综述:天空辐射制冷的原理、材料和应用

原创: Yaohui Feng Energy Elsevier 6月1日

 

      编者按:2017年,英国物理学会发布“2017年度物理学领域十大突破”,美国科罗拉多大学博尔德分校的华人学者杨荣贵和尹晓波团队研发的“无电源输入用于辐射制冷的超材料”入选。团队曾于2017年在Science发表了一种新型辐射制冷薄膜(Science 355, 1062–1066, 2017),能以红外电磁波的形式向外太空辐射能量从而实现制冷,引发了学界、商界的广泛探讨。

 

      而后,杨荣贵和尹晓波团队陆续在Joule、Science(Joule 3,111–123, 2019; Science 364, 760–763, 2019)发布了第一个可全天连续运行的千瓦级辐射制冷系统实现“晒太阳可降温”、可用于辐射制冷的超级木头实现“送热上天”(与马里兰大学胡良兵合作发表)。

     最近,Appl. Phys. Rev. 发表杨荣贵教授团队综述“Radiative sky cooling: Fundamental principles, materials, and applications”,被选为“Editor’s Pick”,全面论述了天空辐射制冷的原理、材料及应用,为实现节能减排、减缓温室效应和城市热岛效应提供了全新的思路和途径。

         随着人口增长、工业发展以及人们对舒适性环境的追求不断提高,21世纪对于制冷空调领域的能源需求急剧增长。目前传统的蒸汽压缩式制冷技术面临着诸如能源消耗大、制冷剂的使用引发温室效应等问题。本质上来看,通过热力循环实现制冷,实际上是将冷量排放到环境中,这使得地球变得更热。因此,提高现有制冷系统效率、寻求新型制冷技术成为学界广泛关注的话题。众所周知,任何物体都会产生辐射,根据Stefan-Boltzmann定律,物体的温度越高,其发射能力越强。考虑到地球表面温度约300K,而宇宙的温度约为2.7K,地球与宇宙之间巨大的温差使得利用红外辐射来冷却地球表面成为可能。

     辐射制冷不同于传统制冷技术将热量排放到环境中,而是将热量直接送入太空,使得辐射制冷技术极具吸引力。寻找具有理想辐射特性的新材料,探究天空辐射制冷应用于不同场景的可能性是辐射制冷的重点研究问题,在建筑节能、太阳能电池、空气取水、户外个人装备冷却以及空调与大型电厂的冷凝等方面有着广泛的应用前景。

图1 天空辐射制冷基本原理(a)地球从太阳获取能量,并向宇宙辐射热量以维持能量平衡;(b)辐射制冷表面的传热过程

       太阳辐照与地球表面产生的红外辐射构成了通常所说的环境辐射,环境辐射与大气之间的相互作用维持着能量平衡并决定着地球表面的温度(如图1)。太阳辐照入射的短波长(0.3~2.5μm)可被大气中的空气和云团反射、吸收或散射。地球表面温度约为300K,根据普朗克定律,地面产生的辐射波长范围为2.5~50μm,类似地,这种地面辐射在向上传播过程中也会被大气反射、吸收或散射。

      过去,辐射制冷通常只用于夜间获取低温,最近几年,随着新型微纳材料与辐射研究的发展,白天辐射制冷成为可能。可以发现,图2(a)所示的太阳辐射的波长与图3所示的300K的黑体辐射具有非常小的重叠部分,因此,研制在太阳光谱中具有近零的低发射率(高反射率),同时在红外区域保持高发射率的光谱选择性表面可以实现白天太阳直射下的辐射制冷。

      由于地表温度约为300K(黑体辐射波长约为3~50μm),因此在这一波长范围内的大气发射率引起了人们的关注。由图3可以看出,由于大气成分作用的综合效应使得最小的大气辐射波长在8~13μm,这一范围被称为“大气窗口”,即大部分可以不受阻碍地穿过大气传播的地面热辐射都在这个波长范围内。因此,对于大气窗口范围内的红外发射率高的特殊材料(发射辐射波长为8-13μm),在这个波长段的能量可以毫无阻力地穿过大气层,不被反射、吸收和散射等,直接进入外太空,从而实现制冷的目的。换言之,这种材料成为人类居住的适宜环境与外太空之间能量输送的纽带。

图2 水平辐射冷表面上吸收的太阳辐照强度

图3 温度为300K的黑体表面光谱(黑色)和中红外区域的大气透过率(蓝色)。8~13μm之间的波长范围由于较高的透射率被称为大气窗口。大气窗口的光谱与温度在300K左右的黑体辐射曲线吻合较好。

文章从太阳辐照、大气辐射、固体表面热辐射、天空辐射制冷的特性(如理想发射曲线、热测量方式和设备、选择性辐射表面、温湿度对辐射制冷的影响、对流和导热等非辐射传热、强化天空辐射制冷的结构设计)等多方面深入揭示了天空辐射制冷的机理及多方面影响因素。此外,还对应用于白天和夜间天空辐射的材料进行了全面的综述,如聚合物基材料、无机薄膜、纳米复合材料、仿生材料等,同时从经济性和实用性等方面讨论了材料的制造方式,以实现低成本下在大气窗口内发射率超高的大规模应用。

图4 夜间辐射制冷材料的红外透射/反射光谱:(a)金属聚乙烯氟化物薄膜;(b)聚乙烯薄膜与无定型SiC纳米颗粒的复合物;(c)铝表面上氧化硅和氮化硅薄膜;(d)选择性红外发射乙烯气体板

图5 用于白天辐射制冷的纳米仿生材料

图6 科罗拉多大学博尔德分校开发的可扩展制造的日间天空辐射超材料:(a)玻璃-聚合物超材料示意,背部是薄银膜。银膜反射大部分入射的太阳光并在大气窗口中具有高发射率;(b)超材料的完整光谱性能,反射96%太阳辐照,大气窗口中发射率>0.93;(c)三天内连续测量冷却功率表明,平均功率>110W/m2;(d)以5米/分的速度生产得300mm宽的超材料薄膜,薄膜厚50μm,未涂银(e)涂银厚的超材料

   以美国为例,建筑耗能约占总能源消耗的40%,而建筑耗能主要来源于HVAC系统,具体而言,制冷消耗占到建筑耗能大部分。天空辐射制冷与建筑结合,不消耗或消耗很少的能源,对实现节能减排产生巨大影响。文中概述了与建筑结合的天空辐射制冷,讨论了该项技术的机遇与挑战。

    在太阳能电池方面,商用太阳能电池通常能量转换效率为12%~20%,太阳能电池容易受到不必要的太阳能加热效应而缩短其寿命。目前常用在太阳能电池方面的冷却技术有水冷、风冷、热管、热电模块和相变材料。天空辐射制冷为太阳能电池的冷却提供了新的思路,可以通过放置在太阳光谱中具有高透射率和在工作温度下红外光谱上高发射率的薄层材料来实现。

 

    空气取水技术在水源枯竭的许多干旱和半干旱地区、偏远农村、边远岛礁场合具有极大的应用潜力,目前常用的空气取水技术有吸附式取水与膜分离等,天空辐射制冷方式同样为空气取水技术提供了一定的思路。

    此外,文章还讨论了天空辐射制冷技术在电厂废热冷却、应用于偏远地区的小型冷却箱、太阳能蒸馏的固定床冷凝器、热发电机、人体装备冷却等方面的应用前景。

图7 用于建筑的被动天空辐射制冷—冷屋顶:(a)冷屋顶通过增强的太阳反射和红外热辐射减少热量进入建筑物;(b)与镀锌低反射率屋顶(右)相比,高反射率冷屋顶表面温度低得多;(c)使用冷屋顶可以减少建筑物对城市热岛效应的贡献

图8 科罗拉多大学博尔德分校开发的聚合物超材料冷屋顶与常规屋顶相比:(a)两个对比房间大小为2.4m*1.8m*2.4m(长x宽x高);(b)24小时测试期间,超材料冷屋顶与常规屋顶温度变化,最高温差为28.6℃;(c)测试期间室温变化,最高温差为11.2℃;(d)测试期间环境温度与太阳辐射

图9 建筑一体化夜间天空辐射冷却系统:(a)使用屋顶作为散热器;(b)与建筑空调相结合;(c)采用屋顶通风设计的NightSolar®系统,实现夏季制冷与冬季供暖;(d)利用夜间辐射制冷与对流冷却系统;(e)夜间将冷却水泵入地板,将冷量存储在建筑物中;(f)提供冷水的夜间辐射系统

图10 白天辐射制冷的建筑物:(a)工质为空气的降低建筑温度的辐射冷却系统;(b)工质为空气的预冷建筑物进气的辐射冷却系统;(c)科罗拉大学博尔德分校开发的日间辐射空气冷却器;(d)开发的冷却器测试结果

图11 以水为工质的日间辐射制冷系统:(a)光子辐射冷却系统;(b)混合辐射制冷系统;(c)用于空调冷凝器的日间辐射制冷系统;(d)使用白天和夜间辐射冷却系统,以最大限度地提高系统效率

图12 与传热流体相结合的天空辐射制冷系统,以产生连续冷却效果:(a)带有传热流体的辐射冷却装置图;(b)水作为传热流体,多个辐射冷板串联的系统;(c)连续三天实验结果;(d)3天实验期间的净冷却功率变化;(e)有无辐射制冷系统的商业办公室每月电力消耗对比;(f)三所城市中,辐射制冷系统应用后的每月节电费用

图13 用于电厂的辐射冷却系统

图14 光谱选择性纳米复合材料纺织品用于户外个人冷却

综上,本文从原理、材料和应用方面全面综述了天空辐射制冷的发展,特别是近几年来,先进辐射制冷材料的开发与白天辐射制冷的研究大大推动了这一技术的进步。天空辐射制冷的发展,突破传统制冷方式,开辟了新型制冷技术,在建筑节能以及大型电厂应用方面蕴藏着巨大的潜力,随着21世纪能源形势和环境问题的日益严峻,天空辐射制冷将在缓解城市热岛效应,解决水和环境问题,甚至应对全球变暖效应等方面发挥重要作用。

原文链接:

Applied Physics Reviews 6, 021306 (2019);https://doi.org/10.1063/1.5087281

© 2019 GEMAR Int'l Phils. Corp. All Rights Reserved.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

© 2019 GEMAR Int'l Phils. Corp. All Rights Reserved.
 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Energy Frontier

Pay attention to the latest developments of Gemar International

Energy frontier

Source : Gemar official website       Release time:2019/08/27

 

 

 

【Energy frontier】APR Review: The Principle, Material and Application of Radiation Sky Cooling

Original: Yaohui Feng Energy Elsevier 6月1日

 

      Editor Notes: The Physics World Top 10 Breakthrough of 2017 was announced by the British institute of physics in 2017. The metamaterial with no power input for radiative cooling developed by the group of Chinese American scholars Ronggui Yang and Xiaobo Yin from Boulder School of Colorado University was selected as one of the top 10. The group once published an article about a new type of radiative cooling film on Science in 2017 (Science 355, 1062–1066, 2017). It’s said that the film can radiate energy to the outer space by the electromagnetic infrared wave to realize refrigeration, which caused an extensive discussion from the academic circles and the business world.

 

      After that, the group of Ronggui Yang and Xiaobo Yin issued the first KW radiative cooling system capable of whole day running to realize “cooling in the sun”, and the super log used for radiative refrigeration to realize “send thermal to the sky “(published together with Liangbin Hu of Maryland University) on Joule and Science(Joule 3,111–123, 2019; Science 364, 760–763, 2019) successively.

     Recently,  Appl. Phys. Rev. announced the review of Prof. Ronggui Yang group “Radiative sky cooling: Fundamental principles, materials, and applications”,which comprehensively discussed the fundamental principles, materials and applications of radiative sky cooling, provided a brand new idea and approach for the realization of energy-saving and emission reduction, the retard of greenhouse effect and urban heat island effect. The paper was chosen as the “Editor’s Pick”.

         Along with population growth, industry development and people’s pursue of more comfortable environment, there is a booming demand of power in the refrigerator field in the 21th century. The current traditional vapor press cooling technology is facing the problems of large energy consumption and greenhouse effect triggered by the refrigerant etc. In fact, to realize cooling by the circle of thermal is to discharge cooling capacity to the environment, which will result in the hotter of the earth. That’s why to raise the efficiency of the current cooling system and look for new type of cooling technology becomes a widespread concern of the academic circles. As everyone knows, any object will produce radiation, and according to the Stefan-Boltzmann law, the higher the object’s temperature the stronger the object’s emission power. Consider the temperature of the earth’s surface is about 300k while that of the atmosphere is about 2.7k, the large temperature difference between the earth and the atmosphere makes it to be possible to utilize infrared radiation to cool the earth’s surface.

     Differ from the traditional cooling technology which discharge heat to the environment, radiation cooling technology is extremely attractive because it can emit thermal to the sky directly. It focuses on the research of a kind of new material with ideal radiation characteristics and the exploration of its possibility to apply radiative sky cooling to various situations, which will have an extensive application on construction energy-saving, solar battery, water condensing from air, cooling of outdoor personal instrument and the condensation of refrigerators and large power stations.
 

Chart 1 Fundamental principle of radiative sky cooling (a) the earth gets energy from the sun and radiates thermal to the universe to keep energy balance; (b) thermal transmission on radiative cooling surface.

       The interaction of the atmosphere and the environmental radiation constituted by solar radiation and infrared radiation from the earth’s surface maintains energy balance and decides temperature on the surface of the earth(chart 1). Short wave from solar irradiation (0.3~2.5μm) can be reflected, absorbed or scattered by the gas and cloud in the atmosphere. Similarly, according to the Planck’s law, temperature on the earth’s surface is about 300k, and the range of radiative wave length generated by the earth is 2.5~50μm, the earth radiation will also be reflected, absorbed and scattered by the atmosphere during its upward transmission.

       In the past, radi-cooling was generally applied to obtain low temperature at night, but in the current years, day time cooling becomes possible along with the development of new micro-naro material and radiation research. It can be discovered that there is only a very small overlapping part between the wave length of solar radiation shown in chart 2(a) and the 300k black radiation shown in chart 3, so it’s possible to realize cooling under direct solar radiation by the research of near zero low emissivity (high reflectivity) in solar spectrum and spectral selective surface that can keep high reflectivity in the infrared area.

      Temperature on the earth’s surface is about 300k (blackbody radiation wavelength is about 3~50μm), so the atmosphere emissivity in the range caused people’s attention. It can be seen from chart 3 that the least range of atmosphere wavelength which is called “atmosphere window” is 8~13μm due to the comprehensive effect of atmosphere components, that means most of the thermal radiation on the earth surface transmitting through the atmosphere without resistance is in this range. Therefore, the special material with high infrared emissivity in the range (emitting wave length 8-13μm) can pass through the atmosphere without any resistance and will not be reflected, absorbed and scattered to enter the outer space directly thus to realize refrigeration. In other words, this kind of material becomes a bond of energy transmitting between human’s residential environment and the outer space.

Chart 2 Solar radiation intensity absorbed by the cold surface from the horizontal radiation

Chart 3 300k blackbody surface spectrum (black) and atmosphere transmittance of the mid-infrared area (blue). 8~13μm wavelength is called atmosphere window due to its high transmittance and its spectrum is consistent with the 300k blackbody radiation curves.

         The article deeply analyzed the principle of radiative sky cooling and all kinds of influencing factors from the aspects of solar irradiation, atmosphere radiation, thermal radiation on solid surface and the characteristics of radiative sky cooling (such as ideal transmitting curves, thermal test and instruments, selective radiation surface, the impact of humiture on radiation cooling, non radiative heat transfer like convective heat transfer and the strengthen of construction design of sky cooling). Furthermore, it also has a comprehensive review of the material used for sky radiation in the daytime and at night, such as polymeric materials, inorganic film, nanometer materials and bionic materials etc. and discussed the manufacture of the materials from economy and practicability at the same time, thus to realize massive application of super high emissivity in the atmosphere window under low cost.

(a) Metallic polyethylene fluoride film; (b) compound of polyethylene film and amorphous sic nano-particles; (c) monox and silicon nitride film on aluminum surface (d) selective infrared emitted ethylene gas panel.

Chart 5 nano-bionic materials for daytime radi-cooling

Glass-polymer metamaterial. Silver thin film on the back. Silver film reflects most of the emitting sunlight and has high emissivity in the atmosphere window; (b) integrated spectral performance of metamaterial: reflect 96% solar irradiation, emissivity in the atmosphere window>0.93; (c) continuous test of cooling power in 3 days shows, average power>110W/m2; (d) produced at 5m/min, get 300mm 50μm metamaterial film without silver coating. (e) silver coating metamaterial

   Take the United Station as example, construction energy consumption takes up 40% of the total energy consumption. While the consumption mainly comes from HVAC system, so in this regard the cooling consumption takes most part of it. As for radiative sky cooling, it can combine with the buildings with little or even no power consumption so as to have great influence on the realization of energy conservation and emission reduction. The article summarized the radiative sky cooling combined with buildings and discussed the opportunity and challenge facing this technology.

    In terms of solar battery, the commercial solar battery has a transfer efficiency of 12%-20% which makes it be heated by unnecessary solar energy to shorten its lifetime. At present, water cooling, wind cooling, thermal pipe, thermoelectrical module and phase change material are usually used on solar battery. The radiative sky cooling, however, provides a new idea for the cooling of solar battery. It can be realized by the thin film materials with high transmissivity in the solar spectrum and high emissivity on infrared spectrum under working temperature.

 

    Radiative sky cooling also provides some certain thoughts for water condense from air technology. Nowadays absorption type watering and membrane separation technology are usually used. There are still an enormous potential application of the new technology in the arid and semiarid areas, remote villages and outlying island areas.

    In addition, the article also discussed the potential application of radiation sky cooling on waste heat cooling in power plants, small cooling box for remote areas, fixed bed condenser distilled by solar energy, thermal generator and the cooling of human body equipment etc.

Chart 7 passive radiative sky cooling for buildings- cold roof: (a) reduction of heat in buildings by stronger solar reflection and infrared thermal radiation; (b) compared to low reflection galvanized roof (right), the high reflectivity cold roof has far more low surface temperature; (c) cold roof can reduce building’s heat island effect to cities.

Chart 8 comparison of polymeric metamaterial cold roof developed by Bould school of Colorado university with common roof: (a) the comparison rooms are 2.4m*1.8m*2.4m (length*width*height); (b) a highest temperature difference of 28.6℃between the temperature change of metamaterial cold roof and common roof in 24 hours; (c) a highest difference of 11.2℃ of the room air temperature during test; (d) environment temperature and solar radiation during test.

Chart 9 nighttime radiative sky cooling system of building integration: (a) use the roof as radiator; (b) combined with construction air conditioner; (c) use roof ventilation designed NightSolar® system to realize summer cooling and winter heating; (d) use nighttime radi-cooling and convectional cooling system; (e) pump cooling water into the floor at night and store the cooling capacity in the buildings; (f) cold water providing nighttime radiation system.

Chart 10 daytime radi-cooling buildings: (a) radi-cooling system use air as refrigerant to reduce building temperature; (b) radi-cooling system use air as refrigerant to precool air suction of buildings; (c) daytime radiative air condenser developed by Bould school of Colorado university; (d) test result of developed condenser.

Chart 11 daytime radiative cooling system use water as refrigerant: (a) photon radi-cooling system; (b) compound radi-cooling system; (c) daytime radi-cooling system for air conditioner condenser; (d) use daytime and nighttime radi-cooling system to raise efficiency furthest.

Chart 12 radiative sky cooling system combined with heat transfer fluid to generate continuous cooling effect: (a) equipment chart of radi-cooling system with heat transfer fluid; (b) series connected radiative cooling panels system use water as heat transfer fluid; (c) test result of 3 days continuously; (d) net-cooling power change in the 3 days’ test; (e) comparison of monthly electricity consumption of business offices with or without radiative cooling system; (f) monthly power-saving cost after the application of radiative cooling system in the three cities.

Chart 13 radi-cooling system for power plant

Chart 14 spectrum selected nanocomposite textile for outdoor personal cooling

    As a conclusion, this article summarized the development of radiative sky cooling technology from the aspects of principle, material and application. The technology has been greatly promoted by the exploitation of advanced radiative cooling materials and the research of daytime radiative cooling. It has broken through traditional cooling mode and opened up a new type of cooling technology, which has an enormous potential in building energy conservation and large scale power plant. Along with the increasingly severe source situation and environment problem, this technology will play an important part in the aspects of relieving city heat island effect, solving water and environment problems and even in the aspect of coping with global warming effect.

Original link:

Applied Physics Reviews 6, 021306 (2019);https://doi.org/10.1063/1.5087281